Friday, October 14, 2016

Wolfsong Review

Title:  Wolfsong
Series: Yes - waiting for book #2
Author:  T.J. Klune
Publisher:  Dreamspinner Press
Release Date:  June 20, 2016
Buy Links:  Amazon DSP 
My Rating:  5+++ Howling Sing-Me-Home 's

My Thoughts:  One of my Top Five Books of 2016.  Absolutely breathtaking! 

Ox was twelve when his daddy taught him a very valuable lesson. He said that Ox wasn’t worth anything and people would never understand him. Then he left.

Ox was sixteen when he met the boy on the road, the boy who talked and talked and talked. Ox found out later the boy hadn’t spoken in almost two years before that day, and that the boy belonged to a family who had moved into the house at the end of the lane.

Ox was seventeen when he found out the boy’s secret, and it painted the world around him in colors of red and orange and violet, of Alpha and Beta and Omega.

Ox was twenty-three when murder came to town and tore a hole in his head and heart. The boy chased after the monster with revenge in his bloodred eyes, leaving Ox behind to pick up the pieces.

It’s been three years since that fateful day—and the boy is back. Except now he’s a man, and Ox can no longer ignore the song that howls between them.

Once in a blue moon, I come across a book that pushes all the right buttons.  It crosses genres and refuses to be defined, labeled, or contained in a small box.  It defies definition and howls in a strong voice.  It's beautifully written and sings to my heart & soul.  Wolfsong is a Once in a Blue Moon Top 5 of the Year book for me.  I heard your message loud & clear T.J. Klune.  You sang me home with your epic love story.  Yes, I said, "Epic Love Story" for without a shadow of doubt, this is one of the most beautiful, mind-sweeping, purest love stories I've ever read.  Mere words are inadequate to relay the explosion of emotions and feelings that this book evoked in me.

I'm not going to touch on details of the story as I hope each reader can go on this journey with an open mind & blank slate.  I didn't read any reviews before starting Wolfsong, and I'm so thankful I didn't.  I knew that it was highly rated, that friends loved it, and that it was written by an author that writes a lot of "funny" books, though this was reported to be "serious". I heard rumblings it was about "wolves" and that it was m/m romance.  Quite a combo for sure!  

And so I opened the cover and started reading.  In a matter of pages, I was totally, irrevocably enthralled with these characters.  A young Ox - big, strong, different, lacking self-worth as his father told him he was "dumb as an ox" before disappearing from Ox's life.  A young ten-year-old Joe - a tornado of arms & legs and non-stop chatter when he introduces Ox to his family - one of the cutest, funniest, most endearing characters I've ever met.  Evil touched him in the past, leaving him damaged, and yet his essence explodes with purity & innocence in a way that will make you smile while ensnaring your heart.  An awesome support cast lends depth, drama, laughter, and magic to this story as they blend their strong, individual voices into one unique familial unit defined not by blood, but by love.

Wolfsong is an epic love story that speaks of unbreakable bonds that grow stronger with each passing year.  It's the story of family and all that encompasses - whether bound by blood or heart.  It's the story of ultimate sacrifice, triumph over evil, and acceptance of fate. It's a story about believing, trusting, and daring to dream. It's the story of a love so strong, so pure, so magical that it stands the test of time.  Wolfsong will stand the test of time as it resides on my All Time Favorites Shelf.  All I can say is Read This Book!  It's a Page Burner! 

My Rating:  5+++++++ Howling, Sing-Me-Home 's

Thursday, October 13, 2016

A Stone Kissed Sea Cover Reveal!


Gorgeous book cover + Intriguing Synopsis = Another Must Read from Elizabeth Hunter!

An immortal wanderer. A brilliant scientist. A centuries-old menace written in blood.   Lucien Thrax, son of the earth and child of the ancients, is a healer of immense power. But years of work on a deadly vampire virus have not led to a cure, nor have they softened the wall he built around his heart. When he’s forced to work with Doctor Makeda Abel, Lucien is convinced he’s reached his limit of patience with humanity.   Makeda Abel may be human, but she’s far from impressed with the brooding vampire healer, even if his mind draws her reluctant admiration. She’s learned how to survive in the immortal world, and it’s not by being afraid. Working together may lead them to answers, but it also pushes Lucien and Makeda’s attraction to the boiling point.   When nightmares become reality, Makeda will have to trust Lucien with her life. Finding answers has never been more vital. Finding love has never been more deadly. To heal the Elemental World, Lucien and Makeda must follow ancient paths and ask for help from the most inhuman of immortals. Because even with a cure in hand, the battle has only begun.  

Pre-Order Links:

A Stone Kissed Sea on:  Goodreads

*Note:  Newsletter subscribers get to know first! New subscribers also get a free short story exclusive to newsletter subscribers.   Newsletter Sign Up   

Get the latest from Elizabeth Hunter at her Social Media Sites:  Website ♥ Facebook ♥ Twitter ♥ Pinterest ♥ Instagram
About Elizabeth
ELIZABETH HUNTER is a contemporary fantasy, paranormal romance, and paranormal mystery author. She is a graduate of the University of Houston Honors College and a former English teacher. She once substitute taught a kindergarten class, but decided that middle school was far less frightening. She's the author of the Elemental Mysteries, the Irin Chronicles, and the Cambio Springs Mysteries.  

Wednesday, October 5, 2016

IWSG: Is It Done Yet??

The Insecure Writer's Support Group is a community of writers who share ideas and encourage other writers. It's a great place to express doubts and concerns as well as offer and receive tribulations and guidance from other writers. IWSG posts the first Wednesday of every month. I think you'll find it to be a great writer's resource that's well worth your time. Be sure to stop by and visit with some of the other IWSG writers/bloggers at IWSG Members.

Thank you October Co-Hosts:
Beverly Stowe McClure
Megan Morgan
Viola Fury
Madeline Mora-Summonte
Angela Wooldridge
Susan Gourley

When do you know your story is ready?

Is it done yet?  How do you know?  Whether you're writing a report, an article, short story, or novel, there comes a point when you realize "it's done".  For me, it's a feeling I get like finally finding and placing that last piece in a puzzle.  It clicks, and I realize my job of creating is done - for the moment.  Everything is suddenly right in my story's world (or in my article, etc.) although right doesn't mean perfect.  It means I accomplished most of what I started out to do and have meandered my way through all the roadblocks and detours I encountered along the way.  My adrenaline high from riding out the crest of conflict begins to ebb, my breathing slows, and I think YES!  This is the page I've been looking for - The End!

How do you know when your story is ready?

Tuesday, October 4, 2016

Deadly Silence Release Week ~ Review, Top Five, Giveaway!

Author: Rebecca Zanetti
Series: Blood Brothers, #1
On Sale: October 4, 2016
Publisher: Forever
Trade Paperback: $14.99 USD
eBook: $5.99 USD

The first book in a breathtaking new romantic suspense series that will appeal to fans of New York Times bestsellers Maya Banks, Lisa Gardner, and Lisa Jackson.

Under siege. That's how Ryker Jones feels. The Lost Bastards Investigative Agency he opened up with his blood brothers has lost a client in a brutal way. The past he can't outrun is resurfacing, threatening to drag him down in the undertow. And the beautiful woman he's been trying to keep at arm's length is in danger...and he'll destroy anything and anyone to keep her safe.

Paralegal Zara Remington is in over her head. She's making risky moves at work by day and indulging in an affair with a darkly dangerous PI by night. There's a lot Ryker isn't telling her and the more she uncovers, the less she wants to know. But when all hell breaks loose, Ryker may be the only one to save her. If his past doesn't catch up to them first...

Full of twists and turns you won't see coming, DEADLY SILENCE is New York Times bestselling author Rebecca Zanetti at her suspenseful best.



Also available at Target!


Series Page on Goodreads

We ask Rebecca Zanetti to talk about her Top Five Actors to cast as Main Characters.  Check out her answers:


Rebecca Zanetti is the author of over twenty-five romantic suspense, dark paranormal, and contemporary romances, and her books have appeared multiple times on the New York Times, USA Today, and Amazon bestseller lists. She has received a Publisher's Weekly Starred Review for Wicked Edge, Romantic Times Reviewer Choice Nominations for Forgotten Sins and Sweet Revenge, and RT Top Picks for several of her novels.  She lives in the wilds of the Pacific Northwest with her own alpha hero, two kids, a couple of dogs, a crazy cat...and a huge extended family.  She believes strongly in luck, karma, and working her butt off...and she thinks one of the best things about being an author, unlike the lawyer she used to be, is that she can let the crazy out.


RAFFLECOPTER a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sunday, September 25, 2016

The Kept Woman Review

Title:  The Kept Woman
Series:  Will Trent #8
Author:  Karin Slaughter
Publisher:  William Morrow
Release Date:  Sept. 20, 2016 (in U.S.A.)
Buy Link:  Amazon
My Rating:  5 Psychotic 's

Husbands and wives. Mothers and daughters. The past and the future.

Secrets bind them. And secrets can destroy them.

The author of the acclaimed standalone Pretty Girls returns with this long-awaited new novel in her bestselling Will Trent series—an electrifying, emotionally complex thriller that plunges the Georgia detective into the darkest depths of a case that just might destroy him.

With the discovery of a murder at an abandoned construction site, Will Trent and the Georgia Bureau of Investigation are brought in on a case that becomes much more dangerous when the dead man is identified as an ex-cop.

Studying the body, Sara Linton—the GBI’s newest medical examiner and Will’s lover—realizes that the extensive blood loss didn't belong to the corpse. Sure enough, bloody footprints leading away from the scene indicate there is another victim—a woman—who has vanished . . . and who will die soon if she isn’t found. 

Will is already compromised, because the site belongs to the city’s most popular citizen: a wealthy, powerful, and politically connected athlete protected by the world’s most expensive lawyers—a man who’s already gotten away with rape, despite Will’s exhaustive efforts to put him away.

But the worst is yet to come. Evidence soon links Will’s troubled past to the case . . . and the consequences will tear through his life with the force of a tornado, wreaking havoc for Will and everyone around him, including his colleagues, family, friends—and even the suspects he pursues.

Relentlessly suspenseful and furiously paced, peopled with conflicted, fallible characters who leap from the page, The Kept Woman is a searing novel of love, loss, and redemption. A seamless blend of twisty police procedural and ingenious psychological thriller, it marks Karin Slaughter’s triumphant return to her most popular series, sure to please new and diehard fans alike.

The Kept Woman - Very fitting title for this raw, gritty, emotional monster of a read!  I've tried to write this review several times since reading it and still can't seem to find the words to do this story justice.  It ran me through a mine field of highs and lows - at times making both my head and heart feel like they would literally explode as I rode out the waves of intense emotional turmoil radiating through these characters.  Some, like Agent Will Trent and Sara Linton, find themselves and their relationships strained and very nearly destroyed by the fiery hell storm brought about with the reappearance of Angela (Angie) Polaski.  While it is no secret that she returns in a big way in this book, I won't discuss particulars of the story as to do so would reveal spoilers that need to be experienced first hand by each reader.  I will say there are some questions answered and some shocking revelations as the story plays out.

Needless to say, Angie wreaks havoc on the lives of everyone she touches.  Her brutally tragic backstory is revealed in "real-time" as the book's timeline swings between past and present. Her horrifying past molded a young girl into a cold-hearted, uncaring, dangerous, psychotic madwoman - one hellbent on destroying anyone and everyone who crosses her path.  Angie uses dark secrets and half-truths like daggers, piercing the heart of her target over and over with her malicious lies as she stalks her prey and leaves a bloodbath in her wake.  She hasn't a clue what love and happiness should feel like - and if she can't have it, she'll make d*mn sure that Will doesn't either.  Every time I felt even an inkling of sympathy for Angie, she threw another of her poisonous daggers - intentionally destroying lives with her vicious manipulation.  The depth of this character's derangement is truly frightening at times - as is her pain.  

Will Trent is  . . . Will.  Fans of the series know what I'm talking about.  It's impossible not to care about this damaged, haunted man-of-few-words as he struggles to accept the idea that he might actually deserve the love and support of a woman like Sara Linton.  He knows their relationship is fragile and dependent upon him trusting her with the truth and upon breaking the powerful, destructive, magnetic pull that Angie Polaski holds over him.  For the past 30 years, he's been there for Angie every time she returned, allowing her to manipulate him, to walk all over him, always helping her, no questions asked.  Can he finally find the strength to tell Angie "No" or will he allow Angie to manipulate her way back into his life and destroy the happiness he's found with Sara?  Sara learns Will hasn't shared all his secrets with her . . . will this be the straw that finally breaks the camel's back?  Has she finally had enough of this whole nightmare to call it quits?

The Kept Woman is INTENSE - cover to cover can't stop reading intense, hyperventilating, heart stopping intense, sit up all night to finish reading intense.  For me, it ranks up there with the last Grant County book, Beyond Reach, in intensity and emotional overload.  The story is graphic & raw (rubbing chest) - it made me hurt and wish for "more" for these characters - all of them.  The action is high, the case a mystery, the plot twisted and then twisted again, the story shocking & riveting, and the characters so d*mn real - dark, damaged, fallible - some evoke hate and contempt, others love and caring.  Brilliant addition to the series, Karin Slaughter! Thank you for another Must Read!  A burn the house down Page Turner!  Deserving of 5k stars!

My Rating:  5 Psychotic 's . . . And that's the truth!

Cross My Heart . . . xxx


Saturday, September 17, 2016

Deadly Silence Review

Title:  Deadly Silence
Series:  Blood Brothers #1
Author:  Rebecca Zanetti
Publisher:  Forever (Grand Central Publishing)
Release Date:  Oct. 4, 2016
Buy Link:  Amazon

My Rating:  4 Bleeding 's

*Many thanks to Forever (Grand Central Publishing) and Netgally for this ARC for review.


Under siege. That's how Ryker Jones feels. The Lost Bastards Investigative Agency he opened up with his blood brothers has lost a client in a brutal way. The past he can't outrun is resurfacing, threatening to drag him down in the undertow. And the beautiful woman he's been trying to keep at arm's length is in danger...and he'll destroy anything and anyone to keep her safe.

Paralegal Zara Remington is in over her head. She's making risky moves at work by day and indulging in an affair with a darkly dangerous PI by night. There's a lot Ryker isn't telling her and the more she uncovers, the less she wants to know. But when all hell breaks loose, Ryker may be the only one to save her. If his past doesn't catch up to them first...

If you're a fan of the brothers in Zanetti's Sin Brothers series, you're in for a treat with this spin-off series, Blood Brothers.  The first book in this cross over series, Deadly Silence, features a trio of brothers joined not by birth, but by blood.  Ryker, Heath, and Denver left a tortured childhood behind after escaping from an abusive boy's home several years ago.  Unfortunately, the demons that stalk their nightmares are still out there . . . searching for them with evil intent.  Each brother has unique abilities and a gift for finding lost people, so they open the Lost Bastard's Investigation Agency even as they try to keep a low profile and cover their tracks.  When this story opens, they are searching for a serial killer.

Ryker and Zara met (and quickly became friends with steamy benefits) when the law firm where she works as a paralegal hired the brothers on a case.  Let me say that the sex is frequent and H.O.T. Both Ryker & Zara have secrets and serious trust issues and have agreed to a No Strings policy.  But, it seems, one of them is rocking the boat by looking to change that policy.  Look in the dictionary under Alpha Male and I'm certain you'll see the name "Ryker Jones".  He is one gorgeous, possessive, dominant alpha male (both in and out of the bedroom!) and will die to protect those he considers his.  One of the ways he does that is to remain unattached.  Zara is smart, loving, loyal, and independent.  She steps up to the plate when Ryker challenges her, and the results are highly entertaining.  There are many awesome moments between this couple, however, just when you think they might have a chance at happiness, their world explodes around them.

Deadly Silence has a lot going on with villains lurking around every corner, creating chaos as the guys always seem to be in one fight or another.  At times, I felt like it was overkill and that the story might have been "more" with "less".  Having said that, the many subplots make for an intense, action packed story that literally explodes on the pages.  As I mentioned earlier, fans of the Sins Brothers will be delighted to see characters (both good & evil) cross over into this story - linking the series and adding to the suspense.  Murder + Mystery + Hot Alpha Males =  Another Must Read by this author! 

My Rating:  4 Bleeding 's . . . And that's the truth!

Cross My Heart . . . xxx


Friday, September 16, 2016

Archangel's Blood Review - Short Take!

Title:  Archangel's Blood
Series:  Guild Hunters
Author:  Nalini Singh
Publisher:  Berkley Sensation
Released:  Jan. 1, 2009

My Rating:  5 Heavenly 's

Vampire hunter Elena Deveraux knows she is the best- but she does not know if even she is good enough for this job. Hired by the dangerously beautiful archangel Raphael, a being so lethal that no mortal wants his attention, Elena knows failure is not an option—even if the task is impossible. 

Because this time, it's not a wayward vamp she has to track. It's an archangel gone bad. 

The job will put Elena in the midst of a killing spree like no other—and pull her to the razor's edge of passion. Even if the hunt does not destroy her, succumbing to Raphael’s seductive touch just might. For when archangels play, mortals break.


I'm not always drawn in by books with angels, but Archangel's Blood is one extremely addictive read.  So rich in details as well as intriguing! Raphael is such a bad*ss, alpha hero (an archangel), as are almost all of the other males in this book. Elena is one of the snarkiest, strongest heroines I've seen in awhile...she's a Guild Hunter - she hunts & returns vampires to their masters. It's clear from the start that Raphael & Elena will clash & light up the heavens when they meet, and they do. The chemistry sparking between them is lethal. Raphael is not used to anyone challenging his authority, & Elena will bow to no one. "Catch me if you can, Angel Boy!" I won't go into the story to avoid spoilers, but suffice it to say Angel's Blood is a Must Read. It's very visual, action-packed, smoking hot. A Page Burner!

My Rating:  5 Heavenly 's . . . And that's the truth!

Cross My Heart . . . xxx