Friday, November 14, 2014

Lethal Book Review

Title:  Lethal
Author:  Sandra Brown
A Standalone Novel

Main Characters:  Honor Gillette & Lee Coburn

My Rating:  5 Gorgeous ♥♥♥♥♥'s

My Gut Reaction:  Heart-stopping action from cover to cover.  The suspense is off the charts, the action swift, & the romance touching.  This is a high octane read that had me burning through the pages late into the night. 


When her four year old daughter informs her a sick man is in their yard, Honor Gillette rushes out to help him. But that "sick" man turns out to be Lee Coburn, the man accused of murdering seven people the night before. Dangerous, desperate, and armed, he promises Honor that she and her daughter won't be hurt as long as she does everything he asks. She has no choice but to accept him at his word.

But Honor soon discovers that even those close to her can't be trusted. Coburn claims that her beloved late husband possessed something extremely valuable that places Honor and her daughter in grave danger. Coburn is there to retrieve it -- at any cost. From FBI offices in Washington, D.C., to a rundown shrimp boat in coastal Louisiana, Coburn and Honor run for their lives from the very people sworn to protect them, and unravel a web of corruption and depravity that threatens not only them, but the fabric of our society.

My Review:

Lethal is a fast paced suspense novel that opens with a bang and never slows down.  From the moment Lee Coburn took Honor Gillette & her young daughter hostage in the opening chapter, I was hooked.  Sandra Brown is a master at weaving an intricate plot riddled with characters who could hold the answer to the age old question:  "Who did it?"  She keeps you guessing who the villain is until the very end and then surprises you!  

Lethal is a maize of twists & turns - pages filled with surprises & heart-stopping moments. Honor is faced with the dilemma of choosing between trusting the town people & friends she knows or the man holding her at gunpoint...the man being hunted down for killing seven people in a massacre.  She will protect her daughter with her life.  Coburn has nothing left to lose, as his life means nothing to him.  It's all about the job.  He fully expects to be dead in the end but he's on a mission to destroy the mastermind of a human trafficking & drug ring...a cruel person known only as the Bookkeeper.  He also believes Honor unknowingly holds the key to solving the mystery.  The story that unfolds will have you on the edge of your seat, continuously trying to figure out who the Bookkeeper really is and who, if anyone, will survive this journey.  

It's difficult to discuss Lethal in any depth without giving away spoilers which I won't do. What I can say is this is a Must Read.  A Page Turner.  The suspense starts high and continues right through until the end.  I read this book at record speed, totally enthralled. The ending of the Epilogue gave me pause but after reading the last few paragraphs a second time, I thought Yes! Perfect ending for this book.  I'd like to say:  Kudos Sandra Brown. Thank you for trusting me to think for myself instead of spoon feeding a typical hea to me.  I loved the ending and know in my heart & soul what happened next.  You are the Queen of Romance/Suspense!  Fans of Suspense, Mystery, Thrillers, and yes, even Romance, read Lethal.  It is a Page Burner!

My Rating:  5 Gorgeous ♥♥♥♥♥'s ...And that's the truth!

Cross My


Wednesday, November 5, 2014

IWSG - Winner or Loser? The Choice is yours...

What is the Insecure Writers Support Group?

Purpose: To share and encourage. Writers can express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak. Those who have been through the fire can offer assistance and guidance. It’s a safe haven for insecure writers of all kinds!   Be sure to check out some of the other writers/bloggers at this link: Insecure Writer's Support Group

Winner or Loser?

Writing is a tough, yet rewarding business.  Bookstore shelves are filled with books by authors who have reached the pinnacle of success, having successfully published their book - maybe even having one or more best sellers.  I guess we can say they are "winners".  So what does it take to be a winner?  What is it that makes one writer make it to the top while another continuously struggles to complete their book and/or get published?  Better writing skills?  Better ideas?  Better agent?  What does it take to win at writing or anything else that you strive to achieve?

Could it be your "attitude"?  Do you see possibilities?  Do you believe your goals are attainable?  Are you fully committed to doing whatever it takes to make it happen?  I believe that writing, like other goals and dreams, begins with a good, positive "can-do" attitude.  Great ideas, writing skills, contacts in the business - all are certainly important but success begins with your attitude.  If you don't believe your goal is possible, why should anyone else?  You want to write a book but you think it's too difficult, too time consuming?  Well, it certainly is that.  Can you see through the negativity to the possibilities?  Are you willing to make it happen?  That is the difference between a "winner" and a "loser" - attitude.  

A positive attitude goes a long way toward helping you achieve your goals, often being the difference between success or failure.  Look at the chart above & decide which side you are on.  Is it time for an attitude adjustment?  Sometimes, we have to stop and remind ourselves of what's important in life, what we really want out of life, and what we're willing to do to reach our goals.  With an winning attitude, anything is possible.  See the possibilities, not the problems.  Make it happen.  Be a winner!