Wednesday, December 6, 2017

IWSG: Looking For A Do-Over?

The Insecure Writer's Support Group is a community of writers who share ideas and encourage other writers. It's a great place to express doubts and concerns as well as offer and receive tribulations and guidance from other writers. IWSG posts the first Wednesday of every month. I think you'll find it to be a great writer's resource that's well worth your time. Be sure to stop by and visit with some of the other IWSG writers/bloggers at IWSG Members.

Join me in thanking this month's awesome co-hosts:  Julie Flanders, Shannon Lawrence, Fundy Blue, and Heather Gardner!

IWSG Question:  As you look back on 2017, with all its successes and failures, if you could backtrack, what would you do differently?

December 6, 2017!
Where has the year gone?! It freaks me out to think about how fast time flies!  Is it just a "getting older" thing?  Does everyone feel that way?

So the question is what would I do differently if I could press a magical "Do-Over button" and get another shot at some things listed in my "failure" column for 2017?  How much time do you have?

Seriously, it ain't rocket science . . . it has to be the illusive time management for me - in both my personal and writing life.  The hours, days, weeks, and months have a way of slipping away, leaving me wondering where in the world did my time go?  I end a day or week or month thinking I should have gotten this done or that completed.  I should have written another page or chapter . . . why didn't I?  What stopped me?  

I hate to admit it, but poor time management bears some of the blame.  That's on me.  I schedule writing time as well as other things (I'm a planner, a scheduler - my calendar and to-do list are my friends!) - but I've come to realize I allow too many interruptions to waylay me.  Sometimes, it's my own doing . . . sometimes, not (why does my hubby only want to "talk" or ask questions or want something when I'm writing?)  And once I'm pulled out of my writing world, it's too easy to "do just one more thing" before returning to work.  By then, I've lost my momentum as my thought-train has been hijacked, and my creative juices drained.

So needless to say, Time Management is a monumental priority for me in 2018!  And it's one thing I wish I could push the Do-Over Button for in 2017!  Fingers crossed I'll get a better handle on it in the coming year!

There's also one other thing that bears mentioning . . . something I feel I don't take time to do often enough and that's Counting My Blessings.  Those of us with family, friends, a safe, warm home and plenty to eat need to count and share our blessings every single day.  Let's share the kindness and love!

How did your successes and failures stack up in 2017?  Anyone need a Do-Over Button?

Monday, November 13, 2017

Twisted Truths Review

Title:  Twisted Truths
Series:  Blood Brothers #3
Author:  Rebecca Zanetti
Publisher:  Forever
Release Date:  Nov. 14, 2017
Buy Link:  Amazon

My Rating:  5 Action-Packed Hearts

*Many thanks to the publisher and Netgally for an arc of this book.


You can't escape the past . . .Noni is desperate. Her infant niece has been kidnapped, and the only person who can save her is a private detective with too many secrets to count--and more enemies than he can name. A man who walked away from Noni without any warning a year ago, a man who broke her heart. But with Talia's life on the line, Noni needs his help now more than ever--and this time, she won't take no for an answer . . .

The moment Denver Jones sees Noni, the memories come rushing back. The fire in her eyes. The determination in her voice. The danger of having her in his life. Denver had to push her away once, but now with vicious criminals threatening Noni and her niece, he'll do whatever it takes to protect them. But enemies from his past are circling, and they'll use anything--and anyone--to get to Denver.

Twisted Truths is the final book in the Blood Brothers Trilogy, and Zanetti definitely saved the best for last!  Intense, fast-paced action and cover-to-cover suspense kept me burning through the pages of this book.  Not only does it bring the Blood Brothers series to an end, it also reels in demons that have haunted and hunted the Sin Brothers also, thereby closing a story arc that encompassed both series.  The author brilliantly wove all the threads together and brought in all the guys to once and for all put their demons to rest.  I loved it!

Finally, in Twisted Truths, Denver's and Noni's story plays out when Noni's dead sister's baby is kidnapped, and she reaches out to Denver for help in finding her.  In doing so, she plasters his picture all over the internet and unknowingly brings his worse nightmare to life when he and his brothers are once again placed in the crosshairs of Sheriff Cobb and Dr. Madison.  Only this time, they can't ghost out of the picture without first finding the kidnapped baby.  When everything blows up in their faces, they have no choice but to call for backup from the Sin Brothers.  

Twisted Truths is high octane, heart-racing action all the way through.  And woven into the drama is the passionate reuniting of Denver and Noni.  Their undeniable, sizzling chemistry and steamy desires ignite the pages, setting the stage for a beautiful, emotional second-chance romance.  A strong, convoluted support cast takes this story to another level as deadly battles rage between the forces of good and evil.  Zanetti takes this one home with a bang!  Fans of the Sins Brothers and the Blood Brothers will not want to miss this one! (Be sure to read the series in order to avoid spoilers.)  A brilliant ending to a fantastic series!  A Must Read!

My Rating:  5 Action-Packed Hearts . . . And that's the truth!

Cross My Heart . . . xxx

Saturday, November 4, 2017

Midnight Labyrinth Review

Title:  Midnight Labyrinth
Series:  Elemental Legacy #4
Author:  Elizabeth Hunter
Release Date:  Nov. 7, 2017
Buy Link:  Amazon

My Rating:  4 Mysterious 's

*Many thanks to the author for an arc copy of this book.

He’s one human caught in a tangled maze of theft, politics, magic, and blood.
 In other words, it’s just another night.

Benjamin Vecchio escaped a chaotic childhood and grew to adulthood under the protection and training of one of the Elemental world’s most feared vampire assassins. He’s traveled the world and battled immortal enemies.

But everyone has to go home sometime.

New York means new opportunities and allies for Ben and his vampire partner, Tenzin. It also means new politics and new threats. Their antiquities business is taking off, and their client list is growing. When Ben is challenged to find a painting lost since the second world war, he jumps at the chance. This job will keep him closer to home, but it might just land him in hot water with the insular clan of earth vampires who run Manhattan.

Tenzin knew the painting would be trouble before she laid eyes on it, but she can’t deny the challenge intrigues her. Human laws mean little to a vampire with a few millennia behind her, and Tenzin misses the rush of taking what isn’t hers.

But nothing is more dangerous than a human with half the story, and Ben and Tenzin might end up risking their reputations and their lives before they escape the Midnight Labyrinth.

Midnight Labyrinth  delivers everything readers have come to expect from Elizabeth Hunter in one inviting package - unique characters, mystery, intrigue, snarky humor, adventure, slow-burn romance - all rolled into one fantastic read!   Readers have been waiting for more of Ben and Tenzin, and Hunter delivers in this one. 

Ben and Tenzin are back in New York and running an antiquities business when Ben runs into an old girlfriend, Chloe, at an art gallery.  Reconnecting with her throws Ben for a bit of a loop as he struggles through an identity crisis.  Ben is hooked by the mystery surrounding a missing painting, The Midnight Labyrinth, and decides to take on the job of finding it.  Tenzin warns that it will only bring trouble, but she's in, of course, with all her usual antics.    I'm not going into the storyline beyond that to avoid spoilers, but will say you don't want to miss their journey!

Midnight Labyrinth is an intriguing, mystery-driven story that kept me on the edge of my seat.  But the thing that stands out most to me is the character and character relationship development. Ben and Tenzin's relationship is ever evolving and fascinating to watch.  Add a blended support cast of unique, multi-faceted new and old characters and you've got a story that's intriguing, mysterious, and yet, at times, hilarious.  Hunter's ability to flawlessly weave history into plot lines has never been more evident.  Her flowing, poetic writing style brings scenes and characters to vivid, living, breathing life.  No one does it better.  Throw in a budding romance, a slow-burn romance, and a swoon-worthy hunk in a kilt, and you've got a Must Read!

My Rating:  4 Mysterious 's . . . And that's the truth!

Cross My Heart . . . xxx

Thursday, November 2, 2017

Year One Review

Title:  Year One
Series:  Chronicles of the One
Author:  Nora Roberts
Publisher:  St. Martin's Press
Release Date:  Nov. 7, 2017
Preorder Link:  Amazon

My Rating:  4 Promising 's

*Many thanks to St. Martin's Press for an arc of this book.

It began on New Year’s Eve.

The sickness came on suddenly, and spread quickly. The fear spread even faster. Within weeks, everything people counted on began to fail them. The electrical grid sputtered; law and government collapsed—and more than half of the world’s population was decimated.

Where there had been order, there was now chaos. And as the power of science and technology receded, magic rose up in its place. Some of it is good, like the witchcraft worked by Lana Bingham, practicing in the loft apartment she shares with her lover, Max. Some of it is unimaginably evil, and it can lurk anywhere, around a corner, in fetid tunnels beneath the river—or in the ones you know and love the most.

As word spreads that neither the immune nor the gifted are safe from the authorities who patrol the ravaged streets, and with nothing left to count on but each other, Lana and Max make their way out of a wrecked New York City. At the same time, other travelers are heading west too, into a new frontier. Chuck, a tech genius trying to hack his way through a world gone offline. Arlys, a journalist who has lost her audience but uses pen and paper to record the truth. Fred, her young colleague, possessed of burgeoning abilities and an optimism that seems out of place in this bleak landscape. And Rachel and Jonah, a resourceful doctor and a paramedic who fend off despair with their determination to keep a young mother and three infants in their care alive.

In a world of survivors where every stranger encountered could be either a savage or a savior, none of them knows exactly where they are heading, or why. But a purpose awaits them that will shape their lives and the lives of all those who remain.

The end has come. The beginning comes next.

Nora Roberts is one of my favorite go-to authors - one I can count on for a great read in various genres.  I discovered her writing years ago, starting with her first book in the Irish Legacy Series and reading my way through her extensive book list written as both Nora Roberts and J.D. Robb. I've enjoyed them all.  When I heard the news Nora was stepping out of the box and venturing off in a new direction, I experienced a tingle of excitement and anticipation.  An end-of-the-world as we know it fantasy saga from Nora Roberts?  Yes please!  I couldn't wait to see what she'd come up with.  Having just read an arc copy of Year One, I'm happy to say I wasn't disappointed.

Year One opens with a happy family gathering on New Year's Eve.  And yet, amidst the celebration, something's not right.  A premonition of something dark and evil invades the atmosphere, leaving an air of anxiety, of impending doom.  A family member falls ill, then another and another.  The uncontrollable sickness spreads like rabid wildfire, consuming families, neighborhoods, towns, cities, countries quickly leading to a global crisis and widespread panic.  While a large part of the earth's population is wiped out, there are pockets of unique survivors who come out of the darkness and make their way toward the west, looking for answers, purpose, safety, and a new beginning.  A story of loss and survival, despair and hope, good vs. evil, this is their journey - one in which they will discover the best and worst in other people, the power and magick within themselves, and the undeniable human desire for survival.  I won't go into any story details beyond what is revealed in the blurb as this is a journey you'll want to take for yourself.  

One of the things I've always loved and consistently found in Nora Roberts' stories is strong character and character relationship development.  This author excels at introducing a variety of characters, showcasing their strengths and weaknesses, and setting them on an often difficult journey of self-discovery and survival.  Year One is no different in that aspect.  Characters from all walks of life are introduced and challenged with a near impossible task - surviving in a world gone mad.  The horrors of death and devastation surround them as the darkness seizes control.  The odds of survival are nearly insurmountable, and danger lurks around every corner . . . even disguised as trusted loved ones.  And yet through it all, there's always a sense of hope, of finding the light, of discovery of something "more".  And that's the feeling I was left with upon finishing this story.  A feeling of promise and hope for the survival of goodness over evil, light over dark, and love over hate . . . hope for the survival of mankind in an apocalyptic world.

Year One brilliantly sets the stage for the second book in the Chronicles of One series which can't come soon enough.  The shell-shocked cast of characters have set out on the journey of a lifetime, charged with the monumental task of survival while battling unknown forces of evil.  In true Nora Roberts style, the plot line picks up each character's story, follows their journey, and eventually intertwines them all into one tightly woven yet unique tapestry.  Vivid imagery is prevalent, bringing each scene to life by engaging all five senses - sight, sound, smell, taste, and touch - leaping off the page, pulling readers fighting and kicking into this apocalyptic world.  An epic tale of survival, Year One is an intense, breathtaking, blockbuster story that would explode across the big screen!  Kudos for following your light, Nora Roberts!  I can't wait for more!  A Must Read!

My Rating:  4 Promising 's . . . And that's the truth!

Cross My Heart . . . xxx


Wednesday, November 1, 2017

IWSG: Making A Difference...

The Insecure Writer's Support Group is a community of writers who share ideas and encourage other writers. It's a great place to express doubts and concerns as well as offer and receive tribulations and guidance from other writers. IWSG posts the first Wednesday of every month. I think you'll find it to be a great writer's resource that's well worth your time. Be sure to stop by and visit with some of the other IWSG writers/bloggers at IWSG Members.

Join me in thanking this month's awesome co-hosts: Tonja Drecker, Diane Burton,  MJ Fifield, and Rebecca Douglass!

It's November 1st!!  What an incredibly short year 2017 has been.  Surely, the powers that be shaved some days off each month . . . it's the only explanation for it being only three weeks until Thanksgiving.

As the holidays and end of year rapidly approach, my mind turns to projects - ones completed, most with a sense of satisfaction, and ones uncompleted, leaving me with a growing sense of frustration and urgency over unreached 2017 writing goals.  Not long ago, a shadow of gloom and doom descended, and I threw myself a little self-indulgent "pity party"!  I allowed negativity to taunt me, filling my head with self-defeating thoughts like: "You may as well give up . . .
You aren't good enough, smart enough . . . you'll never finish, why bother trying?  I can honestly say if it wasn't for the timely, encouraging words from a fellow writer, mentor, friend, and respected author, I might have allowed the negativity to win.  Instead, the fact that one person, one author, took time out of her busy life to share encouraging words, including personal writing experiences, reignited my belief in myself and my writing ability.  It was the boost, and the kick in the butt, that I needed at that moment in time, and I'm happy to say it helped me bring my pity party to an end.  I rose to the challenge and started scheduling, writing, and checking projects off my list once again.  Some meet my expectations, some don't.  Some show promise, some don't.  Some are filed away in that file we all have for projects that don't meet expectations - where they deserve to be.  Either way, one person made a difference and reignited a spark.  (Thank you, Nancy!)

Never, ever underestimate the value of a kind, encouraging word to a fellow writer.  Yours may be the voice that makes the difference to one writer struggling to find their place and way in this writer's world we all share.  It costs nothing but a little time, and while that's precious to us all, the rewards are tenfold to both the giver and recipient of the advice and encouraging words. 

If you're struggling, seek out fellow writers and support groups like the Insecure Writer's Support Group.  You'll find a beautiful mix of both beginning and seasoned writers willing to share and accept advice - a place for receiving and lending a helping hand.  Hopefully, it'll make a difference in your life as it has mine.

Question of the month:  Win or lose, do you usually finish your NaNo project?  Have any of them gone on to be published?

I've never participated in NaNo.  I'm a firm believer in never saying never, but I don't think it's for me.  However, I greatly admire those who are brave enough to jump in and go for it.  Congratulations to all participants - you're all winners.

Tuesday, October 10, 2017

Michael's Wings Review

Title:  Michael's Wings
Series:  The Original Sinners #6.3
Author:  Tiffany Reisz
Publisher:  Eighth Circle Press
Release Date:  Nov. 7, 2017
Order Info:  Amazon

My Rating:  4 Bleeding 's

Many thanks to the author & Eighth Circle Press for an arc of this book.

 Griffin has just popped the question—yes, that question—and Michael doesn’t have an answer. He flees town for New Orleans to see his confidante and sometime-Domme, Mistress Nora. Will a weekend of beignets and beatings help him untangle his knotted-up heart?

Thus begins Michael's Wings, the eponymous novella that kicks off the latest entry in Tiffany Reisz's LAMBDA Literary Award-winning* Original Sinners series.

This companion collection to fan-favorite The Angel also contains six previously-published stories starring Mistress Nora's favorite angel and Griffin—his master, his true love, and the sexy-as-hell bane of Michael's existence.

If you're a fan of the Original Sinners Series (like me), you're probably in love with Michael & Griffin already and eager to see them take things to the next level.  This collection of novellas is for you - an intimate peek into the hearts and lives of Michael & Griffin - six previously published stories and one new . . . Michael's Wings.  I would advise you to stop now if you haven't yet read the series and encourage you to run, not walk, to your nearest bookstore (or online bookstore) and grab these books.  Start at the beginning and read in order.  You're in for one hell of a ride!

In the novella Michael's Wings, Griffin has asked Michael the big question and left him with an order to think it over and give him an answer on Sunday.  Michael panics and runs to Mistress Nora, seeking solace, advice, and stress relief as only Nora can deliver . . . which she happily does.  What she can't or won't do is tell Michael what he should do.  As the story unfolds, the reasons for Michael's turmoil is revealed, giving readers an intimate look at what love in a "non-typical" relationship can mean and/or cost one or both parties.  Ultimately, each individual must decide what they want, need, and desire most - what they can live with . . . and without.  Michael has a lot to think about.

Readers will adore this poignant, intimate love story featuring Michael and Griffin - two men who love each other heart, body, and soul.  But is love ever enough?  Once again, Reisz has done an amazing job of delivering a heart-touching story rich in emotional turmoil, snarky humor, and kinky sex!  I was so touched by the strong emotions evoked from reading this book.  The writing, as always, is flawless and hypnotic - often making me laugh, cry, and yes, sometimes throw things!  The best news is - there are seven novellas in this book - seven opportunities to experience life with Michael & Griffin.  Fans of the series will not want to miss this one!  Another Must Read by the Master!

My Rating:  4 Intimate, Bleeding 's . . . And that's the truth!

Cross My Heart . . . xxx


Sunday, October 8, 2017

Hello Again Review

Title:  Hello Again
Series:  The Evelyn Talbot Chronicles #2
Author:  Brenda Novak
Publisher:  Headline
Release Date:  Oct. 3, 2017

My Rating:  4.5 Chilling 's!


Evelyn Talbot, a psychiatrist at a maximum-security prison in Alaska, studies some of the world's worst serial killers. But she’s about to meet her most elusive patient at Hanover House yet: Dr. Lyman Bishop, AKA the Zombie Maker given his fondness for performing ice-pick lobotomies on his victims. A brilliant cancer researcher, Bishop is either the most cunning psychopath Evelyn has ever encountered—or he is wrongly convicted.

When a new ice-pick fatality occurs, it seems Bishop really was wrongly convicted. Except...Evelyn has a personal connection to the victim and that suggests the killer may be someone from her own past: Jasper Moore, her high school boyfriend who tortured her and left her for dead when she was only sixteen. Jasper also murdered three of her friends—and was never caught. Is he trying to send a message with this copycat crime? The only thing Evelyn knows for sure is that if Jasper is on her trail, she might not be able to escape again . .  

Fantastic addition to the series! Riveting suspense, great character/relationship development, heart-racing twists & turns...A Must Read! Full review coming.

As I mentioned above, I think Hello Again is a great addition to The Evelyn Talbot Chronicles Series.  Novak has picked up the pace, raised the stakes even higher, and dove deeper into the minds of the criminally insane through Evelyn's research at Hanover House - a maximum-security prison in Alaska where some of the world's worst serial killers are imprisoned and studied.  As the story opens, Evelyn is preparing to meet with Dr. Lyman Bishop, aka the Zombie Maker, a brilliant cancer researcher so named because he performed ice-pick lobotomies on his victims.  After talking with him, she realizes he's one of the smartest, most conniving psychopaths she's ever interviewed . . . a deadly, master manipulator.  Evelyn may have met her match, but when another ice-pick murder occurs, the possibility the wrong man was convicted is pursued.  And yet, Evelyn has a gut-feeling that Jasper, her ex-boyfriend who tortured her and killed three of her friends, may be involved in the latest killing.  Is she right or just being paranoid?  Time is of the essence and lives are on the line.  

Hello Again is a riveting, psychological thriller.  The story flows smoother and the pace is faster than in Her Darkest Nightmare, I think.  I liked that Novak took some big steps forward with character relationship development and the overall story arc.  The flawed characters came across almost a little too real in some chilling scenes, causing me to look over my shoulder a time or two!  Like driving on a curvy, dark country road at night, this story unfolds with twists and turns that left me breathless, heart racing right through the end (which I won't discuss, but omg!).  I'm more intrigued by this series than ever.  An awesome addition to the series!  A Must Read!

My Rating:  4.5 Chilling 's . . . And that's the truth!

Cross My Heart . . . xxx


My Sister's Grave Review

Title:  My Sister's Grave
Series:  Tracy Crosswhite #1
Author:  Robert Dugoni
Publisher:  Thomas & Mercer
Release Date:  Nov. 1, 2014

My Rating:  4 Riveting 's


Tracy Crosswhite has spent twenty years questioning the facts surrounding her sister Sarah’s disappearance and the murder trial that followed. She doesn’t believe that Edmund House — a convicted rapist and the man condemned for Sarah’s murder — is the guilty party. Motivated by the opportunity to obtain real justice, Tracy became a homicide detective with the Seattle PD and dedicated her life to tracking down killers.

When Sarah’s remains are finally discovered near their hometown in the northern Cascade mountains of Washington State, Tracy is determined to get the answers she’s been seeking. As she searches for the real killer, she unearths dark, long-kept secrets that will forever change her relationship to her past — and open the door to deadly danger.

My Sister's Grave is an intense psychological thriller that held me spellbound as I read late into the night seeking answers.  Det. Tracy Crosswhite has devoted the past twenty years of her life to solving the mystery of her sister Sarah's disappearance at age eighteen.  She isn't comforted by the imprisonment of the man convicted of murdering Sarah because she's always felt there was a cover-up. Things have never added up...there were too many discrepancies in the story being told and she couldn't understand why they weren't questioned.  When Sarah's remains are finally discovered, Tracy's suspicions are confirmed.  She's more sure than ever that the man who has sat in prison for the past twenty years was railroaded.  And now, Tracy intends to get answers.  Nothing will stop her until she learns the truth...except maybe the killer.

 I love it when a new-to-me author grabs my attention on page one and holds it until the end.  Thank you, Robert Dugoni!  My Sister's Grave is a riveting suspense story with twists and turns that kept me burning through the pages.  The author does a flawless job of switching back and forth between the present and past, allowing readers to experience the story and learn the truth as it's happening both now and twenty years ago.  The plot line is intricately woven with suspense and a sense of urgency that resounds like a bomb ticking, filled with the emotional turmoil of Tracy and other townspeople as this story unfolds.  I wasn't shocked by the "who" as I had come to suspect what happened (though not the "why"), but was still riveted to my seat reading through the final page. Buckle up for the ride! My Sister's Grave is a Page Burner - A Must Read!

 My Rating:  4 Riveting 's . . . And that's the truth!

Cross My Heart . . . xxx


Wednesday, October 4, 2017

IWSG: Tempted to Clone Yourself?

The Insecure Writer's Support Group is a community of writers who share ideas and encourage other writers. It's a great place to express doubts and concerns as well as offer and receive tribulations and guidance from other writers. IWSG posts the first Wednesday of every month. I think you'll find it to be a great writer's resource that's well worth your time. Be sure to stop by and visit with some of the other IWSG writers/bloggers at IWSG Members.

Join me in thanking this month's awesome co-hosts:    Olga Godim, Chemist Ken, Jennifer Hawes, and Tamara Narayan!

Hugs & prayers to all the victims and families affected by this past week's tragic event.  The loss of lives and innocence is heart-breaking.  My thoughts and prayers are with you.  

IWSG Question:  Have you ever slipped any of your personal information into your characters, either by accident or on purpose? 

Personal information?  How personal?  Height?  Weight?  Ummm . . . No!  I can honestly say I haven't been tempted to "clone" myself in any of my characters.  However, it would be hard to keep any personal experiences that have influenced me from affecting or "coloring" my work in some way.  A couple of times, a character or plot line has caused one of my past personal experiences to suddenly surface, and after mulling it over I've taken that past memory and used it as motivation to write a specific scene.  Events from my early childhood may one day work their way into a story, but only if the time and situation are right.  As for my "personal info", I'll keep that to myself!  Lol.

On the other hand, I have found myself basing characters on other family members, friends, and acquaintances.  Unique faces, features, and mannerisms fuel my imagination.  No one's safe or off-limits!  Shhh . . . mum's the word!

How about you?  Have you ever cloned yourself in one of your characters?  Or just used bits and pieces?

Sunday, October 1, 2017

Prince Of Fools (House of Terriots #3) Review

Title:  Prince Of Fools
Series:  House of Terriots #3
Author:  Nancy Gideon
Release Date:  Oct. 23, 2017
Buy Links:  Amazon  Kobo

My Rating:  5 Raw, Seductive 's

First Thoughts:  A stunningly raw, heart-racing story that held me in a trance from cover to cover!  Prince Charming does exist . . . and his name is Rico! 

*Many thanks to Nancy Gideon for an opportunity to beta read this fantastic book!

A dark prince to her Cinderella barmaid . . . Rico . . . Prince in the shapeshifter House of Terriot 

Reckless, hotheaded Rico Terriot seeks purpose and a sense of pride training the resentful guardians of New Orleans to defend a city besieged by a deadly outside force. Torn between his desire for his brother’s mate and the woman tied to the child of another, protecting their future happiness means denying his own on a dangerous path to redemption.

One night of stolen pleasure he didn’t remember and she couldn’t forget…

Amber . . . a single mother hiding a terrible past

Rico Terriot was the stuff of dreams . . . lately all of hers. But there’s no happily-ever-after for someone living in the shadows, protecting dangerous secrets that threaten her and her daughter. Dare she believe in a fairytale prince when he comes to her rescue, not knowing the price he’ll pay for making her troubles his own? From world’s so far apart, is love strong enough to hold them together . . . and keep them alive?

Utterly captivating, Prince Of Fools is intense, fast-paced, paranormal romance/suspense at its best - A stunningly raw, heart-racing story that held me in a trance from cover to cover!  The dark, deadly, damaged hero seeking redemption and strong, protective heroine living in the shadows came together in a sultry dance that escalated this book and couple to the position of my favorite of the H.o.T. series thus far.  I wasn't expecting to fall head-over-heels for the naughty Prince of Fools, but I found Rico simply irresistible . . . in more ways than one!   

Frederick (Rico) Terriot – aka the Prince of Fools - a prince who flaunts his crown and owns his cloak of privilege like a second skin.  Most only see the arrogant, flamboyant, sex-on-a-stick playboy, strutting his stuff with a deliciously dirty swagger in his step, liquid courage in his hand, and a rotation of women in his bed - unfortunately, not the one he desires most...his brother's mate.  Driven by the old green-eyed monster, Rico can't resist one last jab to ease his wounded pride. A few carelessly tossed hurtful words and a fight between brothers ensues . . . until the ever mysterious, protective barmaid Amber intervenes, capturing Rico's attention and changing the playing field when she takes him home with her.  Soon, for the first time in a long time, he feels needed as he steps up for the woman and child who has captured his attention, finding himself willing to do anything to protect them.  If only he can convince Amber that he's worthy of their trust . . . 

Amber James works as a barmaid at the shapeshifter bar Cheveux du Chien.  A beautiful, sensuous woman, she lives in the shadows and sleeps with one eye open lest past demons come calling during the night.  Ever diligent, Amber is a strong, courageous, protective lioness standing guard over her cub - her beautiful daughter, Evie.  As a woman concealing dark, deadly secrets, she understands that Cinderella's slipper doesn't come in her size, carriages turn into pumpkins at midnight, and real princes don't choose girls like her.  And still, she risks everything by stepping in to save one.  Question is...who will save her when her worst nightmare comes calling?  

Rico and Amber's hearts and worlds collide in 
Prince of Fools.  Time's running out for them and the people of New Orleans as deadly forces from the North threaten to invade the city.  Past enemies and territorial rivals must ban together or fall.  Rico Terriot will stand as the self-appointed trainer of NOLA's strange band of dock workers, seeking new purpose and self-worth while battling his way through a convoluted web of lies, secrets, and betrayals woven by traitors masked as allies looking to sink a knife into his back.  Even as he vows to stand for the city and his loved ones, all hell breaks loose.  And yet, Rico's toughest battle ever may turn out to be an affair of the heart.  

Prince of Fools is an intriguing, emotional, seductive story that ignites the pages with desire - of so many kinds.  Gideon masterfully intertwines both on-going and new plot lines, maneuvering twists and turns that had me gasping, crying, laughing, and sighing all the way through the last page, satisfied in the end yet craving more.  As always, she excels at pitting dark, deadly, wet-dream bad*ss heroes worthy of redemption against strong, courageous, sensuous, and often snarky heroines who give as good as they take, and this couple is no exception.  The sexual chemistry between Rico and Amber sizzles and sparks before erupting into flames, making me squirm in my seat while fanning myself as I burned through pages seeking more!  An impressive, star-studded support cast includes several By Moonlight favorites, adding to the mystic and suspense while enhancing the plot line as well as the overall series story arc. Fans of the series will cheer and swoon over the return of Max, Alain, and others and yet, new readers will enjoy it as a standalone as Gideon flawlessly fleshes the story out with needed background information.  Intense, seductive suspense – Prince Of Fools is another Page Burning, Must Read by an author that delivers every single time! 

My Rating:  5 Raw, Seductive 's . . . And that's the truth!

Cross My Heart . . . xxx

Wednesday, September 6, 2017

IWSG: It's All In The Details . . . *Blush*

The Insecure Writer's Support Group is a community of writers who share ideas and encourage other writers. It's a great place to express doubts and concerns as well as offer and receive tribulations and guidance from other writers. IWSG posts the first Wednesday of every month. I think you'll find it to be a great writer's resource that's well worth your time. Be sure to stop by and visit with some of the other IWSG writers/bloggers at IWSG Members

Join me in thanking this month's awesome co-hosts:
 Tyrean Martinson
Tara Tyler
Raimey Gallant

 Beverly Stowe McClure

*First I'd like to offer hugs and prayers to all victims of Hurricane Harvey as well as to all those in the path of Hurricane Irma.  The loss and devastation is simply heartbreaking.  It really puts things into perspective, doesn't it?  But as always, the resilience of the human spirit is simply amazing, as is the generosity and caring of people toward others in times of need and loss.  Take care.

Question of the Month: Have you ever surprised yourself with your writing? (For example, by trying a new genre you didn't think you'd be comfortable in?)

Have I ever surprised myself?  Good question.  Does making myself blush count?  

So here's the deal - I've never been at ease writing explicit love scenes...specifically erotic sex scenes.  I'm more comfortable keeping the intimate details to the bare (pun intended) minimum needed while still selling the romance.  However, as an avid reader of all genres of romance, I realize today's trend in writing love scenes leans heavily on more definitive details, on the mechanics . . . right down to insert bigger-than-life body part A into tightest-wettest-ever body part B and describe what happens!  *Blush*  Yeah.  Not so comfortable writing those scenes.  Notice I didn't say I don't read, write, and enjoy steamy reads . . . I do!  Some of my favorite authors know how to bring the heat, and I enjoy their books immensely.  However, I think it's probably my weakest area as a writer and definitely something I need to work on.

I'm pushing my boundaries and those scenes more than ever in my current w-i-p and yes, I've surprised myself as I'm slowly becoming more comfortable with it.  It's not so hard (*groan* - pun not intended), but it remains a challenge for this ole southern girl as my Southern Baptist upbringing kicks in.  I can still easily picture mama's stern look, reprimand ringing in my ears.  (Sorry Mom - I remember you said nice girls don't act or talk like that, but things are a bit different nowadays - especially in a writer's world.)  

Recently, I worked on enhancing (seriously?) a couple of sex scenes I felt needed work . . . editing to build more sexual tension including sensual details of the act while still nurturing a deeper level of trust, love, and emotional intimacy between these characters.  I'm pleased and a bit surprised to say I think I've done it!  *Blush*  I'll never be comfortable writing hard-core sex scenes, but I'm learning where my happy medium lies and stopping short of crossing a line that doesn't work for me.  If it makes me blush, squirm in my seat, and/or fan myself, I'm getting it right . . . hopefully for both me and my readers.

How comfortable are you writing explicit sex scenes?  Any pointers to share with those of us trying to learn?

Have you ever surprised yourself with your writing? 

Thursday, August 31, 2017

Fatal Threat Review

Title:  Fatal Threat
Series:  Fatal #11
Author:  Marie Force
Publisher:  Harlequin Books
Release Date:  July 25, 2017
Buy Link:  Amazon

My Rating:  3 Hearts

First Thoughts:  Great plot with lots of potential, but some issues derails it.


With a killer on the loose, it's the worst time to be on lockdown…

It's just another day at the office for Washington Metro Police lieutenant Sam Holland when a body surfaces off the shores of the Anacostia River. But before Sam can sink her teeth into the new case, Secret Service agents seize her from the crime scene. A threat has been made against her family, but nobody will tell her anything—including the whereabouts of her husband, Vice President Nick Cappuano.

This isn't the first time the couple's lives have been at risk, but when a bombshell from Sam's past returns to haunt her, she can't help but wonder if there's a connection. With a ruthless killer out for vengeance, and Nick struggling to maintain his reputation after secrets from his own past are revealed, Sam struggles to tie the threat to a murder that can't possibly be a coincidence. And she has to get it done before her husband's career is irrevocably damaged…


Lt. Samantha (Sam) Holland is whisked away from the scene of a murder investigation by Secret Service agents. It all happened so abruptly that neither she nor her partner, Freddie, could stop them or get answers to their questions about what was going on. Sam finds herself locked down in a safe house along with the rest of her extended family. She eventually learns of the credible threat against them (especially the children) after she’s joined by her husband, Vice President Nick Cappuano. Needless to say, Sam is very verbal in her displeasure over being locked down and unable to pursue the investigation or her other cases. She insists on going to work in spite of the danger to herself and others.

The police procedurals in these cases are always intriguing. I enjoyed following the evidence along with Sam and other detectives as they worked together to solve this case. I love these characters and have enjoyed reading about their lives. However, there are things occurring that just don’t work for me. Sam is the Second Lady – the Vice President’s wife – and yet she roams around the city easily recognized without protection of any kind…because she stomps her foot and demands it be that way. There’s no consideration for Nick or anyone else – just Sam doing what Sam wants to do. I loved that she continued to work after becoming Second Lady and think the plot has great potential, but it’s becoming harder to suspend belief and accept the fact that no agent covers her, and it’s never been more evident (or over-the-top) than in this book. Sam’s continued blatant attitude, along with some other issues, was so profound in Fatal Threat that I found myself shaking my head and rolling my eyes a few too many times. It lessened my enjoyment of this book.

I’m a fan of the series. I’ve loved the journey with Nick, Sam, and Scotty as well as the awesome support cast. I’m intrigued with their lives and future and am really hoping to see a more believable stance going forward. Yes, even Romance/Suspense has to be believable to a point. The saving grace for this book is the Bonus Story at the end concerning Avery and Shelby. I loved it and them!

My Rating:  3 Disappointing Hearts . . . And that's the truth!

Cross My Heart . . . xxx